IMG_0647_2Isobar Press publishes poetry in English by Japanese and non-Japanese authors who live (or have lived) in Japan, or who write on Japan-related themes. Isobar is now also starting to publish English translations of modernist and contemporary Japanese poetry, and English translations of poetry in languages other than Japanese but which has a strong Japanese connection.

In London, Isobar books are available from the London Review Bookshop, 13 Bury Place, London WC1A 2JL, tel: 020 7267 9030; and from John Sandoe Books, 10 Blacklands Terrace, London, SW3 2SR, tel. 020 7589 9473.

In Tokyo, Isobar books are available from Books Kinokuniya Tokyo in Shinjuku and Infinity Books (1-2-4 Azumabashi, near Asakusa).


Paul Rossiter: Temporary Measures

Paul Rossiter’s previous book, Seeing Sights, which collected poems written between 1968 and 1978, was mostly set in the mountains of northern England and Scotland; Ian Brinton described it as a ‘beautifully crafted volume’, with poems that ‘bear excellent comparison’ with some of the early work of Gary Snyder. The story is continued in a more urban key in Temporary Measures, which gathers poems from 1978 to 1981. The poems are mostly set in London, with excursions westwards in England and southwards to the Dordogne region of France – and, more distantly, to Tang Dynasty China by means of versions of Du Fu and Wang Wei. Performance is a frequent theme, whether the performance of music (John Cage, Art Pepper), of dance (Merce Cunningham, a nightclub hostess), or of everyday activities (railway maintenance workers stepping over a live rail). The fourth part of the book moves further afield, responding to places and occasions in Kuwait, Egypt, Cyprus and Greece.

Click here to buy from Amazon in Japan: click here to buy from Amazon in the UK; click here to buy from Amazon in the US.

Genzō Sarashina – Kotan Chronicles: Selected Poems 1928–1943, translated by Nadine Willems

Kotan Chronicles by Genzō Sarashina takes the reader into the lives of the Ainu, the indigenous people of Hokkaido, and their interaction with Japanese settlers in the 1920s and 1930s, a period when the traditional world of the kotan, or Ainu village, was being destroyed by the rapid development of the island. With a distinctive and powerful artistic voice, vividly captured in Nadine Willems‘s translation, the poems probe this extraordinary cultural encounter in Japan’s far north, depicting both the beauty of the Hokkaido landscape and the back-breaking work required to survive there in an era of economic hardship. Kotan Chronicles constitutes an exceptional witness of its times.

These valuable translations, prefaced by an expertly written scholarly introduction, provide a compelling and trenchant account of life on the geographic and intellectual frontiers of imperial Japan.’ – Paul D. Barclay, Chair of Asian Studies, Lafayette College

‘Such a rare treat – one of the few examples of Japanese proletarian poetry to appear in English.… This courageous version not only captures the colloquial, multivocal style of the original poems, but also constitutes an important document in the recuperation of pre-war Japanese poetry.’ – Eric Selland

Read more.

Click here to read a sample from this book published in Cha: An Asian Literary Journal.

Click here to buy from Amazon in Japan: click here to buy from Amazon in the UK; click here to buy from Amazon in the US. This book is available in both paperback and hardback editions.

Peter Robinson – Approach to Distance: Selected Poems from Japan, with Japanese translations by Miki Iwata

Peter Robinson (1953– ) is among Britain’s internationally recognized contemporary poets. He has also had a long and deep relationship with Japan, the country where he would spend eighteen years teaching English literature in Sendai and Kyoto. Approach to Distance: Selected Poems from Japan presents a bilingual gathering of the poems he wrote during his residence in the country, a key period in his creative life. Miki Iwata’s introduction sets the choice of poems in context, and her translations bring over into Japanese the emotional intelligence, trans-cultural understanding, and wit-inflected feeling that characterize this poet’s widely appreciated work.

‘It’s as if he carries a listening device, alert for the moments when the tectonic plates of mental experience slide quietly one beneath another to create paradoxes and complexities that call for poems to be made’ – Roy Fisher

‘… a major English poet’ – Poetry Review

ピーター・ロビンソン(一九五三―)は、国際的に知られたイギリスの現代詩人の一人。仙台と京都で18年にわたって英文学を教え、日本と長く深い関わりを育んだ。『距離を縮めて  日本からの選詩集』は、彼の創作にとって重要な時期である日本の時代に詠まれた詩を二か国語版で編んだものである。岩田美喜の前書きが収録された詩の文脈を示すと同時に、翻訳は、ロビンソンの代表作の特徴として知られた、知的感性、異文化理解、そして機知混じりの情動を日本語に伝えてくれる。



Click here to read a sample of Approach to Distance.

Click here to buy from Amazon in Japan; click here to buy from Amazon in the UK; click here to buy from Amazon in the US.


Click on the cover to get more information.

draft will web (medium)zeus cover rgbgesture cover rgbbeethoven cover rgbsympathies cover4insomniac cover33(small)fire cover(outline)300dpirhododendron web cover rgbroyall cover11cRGBsky coverarc tangent coverjapanese cover (outline)